1967 Quatermass and the Pit

Quatermass and the Pit – 1967

Alternative Title: Five Million Years to Earth

A Hammer Film production presented by Associated British Pathe Limited and released through Wamer-Pathe Distributors Limited (UK) and Twentieth Century-Fox (USA)

Copyright MCMLXVlI Hammer Film Productions ltd, – All rights reserved 

MPAA Approved Certificate No. 21860 

The characters and incidents portrayed and the names used herein are fictitious and any similarity to the name, character, or history of any person is entirely accidental and unintentional 

RCA Sound System 

Produced at M,G,M, British Studios, Boreham Wood, Herts

Technicolor 97 mins 


Work on the London Underground at Hobbs End is halted when a strange, dwarf-like skeleton is found. Scientists are called in, headed by Dr Roney, and further diggings reveal something metallic buried in the mud. Thinking it to be an unexploded wartime bomb, Roney informs the Ministry of Defence and Professor Quatermass and Colonel Breen inspect the object. Breen is convinced that the thing is a German secret weapon, but Quatermass suspects something far more sinister. Given the history of the area, where for centuries sightings of ‘demons’ have been reported, he believes that forces from another world have been at work – forces which could still wreak havoc!

Watch the trailer on YouTube


Supervising Art Director
Supervising Editor
Production Manager
Assistant Director
Art Director
Sound Recordist
Sound Editor
Hair Stylist
Wardrobe Mistress
Special Effects
Camera Operator
Director of Photography
Music Composed by
Musical Supervisor
Original Story and Screenplay by
Produced by
Directed by

Bernard Robinson
James Needs
Ian Lewis
Spencer Reeve
Bert Batt
Ken Ryan
Sash Fisher
Roy Hyde
Doreen Dearnaley
Michael Morris
Pearl Tipaldi
Rosemary Burrows
Irene Lamb
Bowie Films Ltd
Moray Grant
Arthur Grant, BSc
Tristram Cary
Philip Martell
Nigel Kneale
Anthony Nelson Keys
Roy Ward Baker


Dr Roney
Professor Quatermass
Barbara Judd
Colonel Breen
Captain Potter
Police Sergeant Ellis
Sergeant Cleghorn
Sapper West
Elderly Journalist
Abbey Librarian
Pub Customer
Corporal Gibson
Miss Dobson
Technical Officer

James Donald
Andrew Keir
Barbara Shelley
Julian Glover
Duncan Lamont
Bryan Marshall
Peter Copley
Edwin Richfield
Grant Taylor
Maurice Good
Robert Morris
Sheila Steafel
Hugh Futcher
Hugh Morton
Thomas Heathcote
Noel Howlett
Hugh Manning
June Ellis
Keith Marsh
James Clifford
Bee Duffell
Roger Avon
Brian Peck
John Graham
Charles Lamb


This was Roy Ward Baker’s first film for Hammer, the others are “The Anniversary” (1968), “Moon Zero Two” (1969), “The Vampire Lovers” (1970), “Scars of Dracula” (1970), “Dr Jekyll and Sister Hyde” (1971) and “The Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires” (1974). For rivals Amicus, he directed “Asylum” (1972), “…and now the Screaming Starts” (1973) and “The Vault of Horror” (1973). His other work includes “The Monster Club” (1980, with Vincent Price and John Carradine).

Details were complied viewing the actual film. 
Source of viewing copy – The Hammer Graveyard Collection