1968 The Lost Continent

The Lost Continent - 1968

A Seven Arts-Hammer Film production presented by Associated British Pathe Limited and released through Warner-Pathe Limited (UK) and Twentieth Century-Fox (USA) 

Copyright MCMlXVIII Hammer Film Productions Limited - All rights reserved

MPAA Approved Certificate 

The characters and incidents portrayed and the names used herein are fictitious and any similarity to the name, character, or history of any person is entirely accidental and unintentional 

RCA Sound Recording 

Made at the Elstree Studios of Associated British Productions Limited, Herts, England

Technicolor 98 mim 


A leaky, decrepit boat bearing an illegal and highly dangerous cargo of phosphorus sets out from Africa on the long voyage to Caracas. Also on board is a motley collection of misfit passengers, all with shady pasts which they are keen to escape. When the captain/owner Lansen ignores a hurricane warning, most of his crew desert the boat, which is now in danger of being blown apart by the explosives in the hold. Lansen and the passengers insist on going on, but soon drift into the Sargasso Sea, filled with terrifying monsters and the remains of ancient galleons. Then they discover a land peopled by the descendants of fanatical Spanish conquistadors and ruled by a young boy known as 'El Diablo'.

Watch the trailer on YouTube


Art Director Arthur Lawson
Supervising Editor James Needs, GBFE
Editor Chris Barnes
Assistant Director Dominic Fulford
Assistant Art Director Don Picton
Sound Mixer Dennis Whitlock
Sound Editor Roy Baker, GBFE
Continuity Doreen Soan
Make-up George Partleton
Hairdresser Elsie Alder
Wardrobe Mary Gibson
Costume Designer Carl Toms
Special Effects Cliff Richardson
Special Effects Robert A. Mattey
Consultant Arthur Hayward
Modeller Arthur Fehr
Casting Irene Lamb
Recording Supervisor A.W. Lumkin
Camera Operator Russell Thompson
Director of Photography Paul Beeson, BSc
Music Composed by Gerard Schurmann
Songs by Roy Phillips
Sung by The Peddlers
Musical Supervisor Philip Martell
Screenplay by Michael Nash
From the novel "Uncharted Seas" by Dennis Wheatley
Associate Producer Peter Manley
Produced and Directed by Michael Carreras


Captain Lansen Eric Ported
Eva Hildegard KnefI
Unity Suzanna Leigh
Tyler Tony Beckley
Webster Nigel Stock
Hemmings Neil McCallum
Ricaldi Benito Carruthers
Pat Jimmy Hanley
Chief James Cossins
Sarah Dana Gillespie
Mate Victor Maddern
Helmsman Reg Lye
Jonathan Norman Eshley
Sea Lawyer Michael Ripper
Sparks Donald Sumpter
Jason Alf Joint
Braemar Charles Houston
Hurri Curri Shivendre Sinha
El Diablo Darrel Read
Inquisitor Eddie Powell
Sergeant Frank Hayden
Customs Men Mark Heath, Horace James


The screenplay for this film was written by Michael Carreras under the pen-name Michael Nash, which was apparently the name of his gardener.
 Special Effects man Robert A. Mattey went on to create the famous shark for Steven Spielberg's blockbuster, "Jaws" (1975).

Details were complied viewing the actual film. 
Source of viewing copy - The Hammer Graveyard Collection